Chances are, there's someone on the interweb watching the same video you're watching on MTV.com at the same time. Maybe they have the same sense of humor as you. Maybe they relate to the people or scenarios in the show like you do. Or maybe they're just procrastinating or need a little escapism like you. Whomever they are, you guys are here for the same thing at the same time. So now, we're giving you the opportunity to connect with these mysterious someones. Welcome to MTV.com's latest online social viewing experience. Below, you will find helpful FAQ's on how to make the most of your social viewing experience.
* Note: Social viewing features will only be available on the latest full episode of Jersey Shore season 2 at the moment *
Do I have to log in?
If you want to chat, find your friends, private chat with someone, or create your own viewing party, you must login. You can log in with yuor email address and birthdate, or use your Facebook or Twitter credentials. However, you can still take polls, throw objects, and use the gestures without logging in.
What is "Update Networks"?
This lets your friends on Facebook or Twitter know what you're up to so that they can join you.
How many people can fit in a room?
Up to 35 persons in each chat room.
How do I invite friends to join?
Click "Find Friends" in the left rail. You must be logged in so we can pull in your list of friends. Click on "Invite to Room" and click "SEND INVITES". They will received a direct message in their Facebook or Twitter. If you room is full (35 people max), they will end up in another room that has open spots. See below for how to create your own room.
What is a Viewing Party?
You can create your own room, public or private. If your room is private, people can only come into your room if they are invited, by clicking on "Find Friends" in left rail. Everyone who joins the room will be watching the same point in time in the video as you. You have the remote control, so if you pause the video, everyone's video in the same room will pause as well.
What is "Add To MTV Buddy List"?
The MTV Buddy List allows you to keep a list of friends on MTV.com only. It will not add them to your Facebook or Twitter friends. Once you add someone to your MTV Buddy List, they will show up in "Find Friends".
What is "Watch Together In Sync"?
This jumps your video to the same spot the person is watching.
How do I block someone?
Rollover their picture and click "Block this user". You will not see the user's comments pop up.
How do I turn comments off?
Click "Hide" in the lower right corner.
How do I turn cast and crew commentary tracks on?
If they are available, you will see a "Commentary Track" button in the right hand rail. You can choose multiple commentary tracks if they are available. You can turn them off by clicking on the "Commentary Track" button again and unchecking the track(s).
How do I turn all social viewing off?
Click on "TURN OFF EXTRA FEATURES" in the top left corner.